Foolishly put Lucas "Transmission Fix" in a 727

Mopar Muscle
Item Posts    Sort Order

Foolishly put Lucas "Transmission Fix" in a 727

kasman kasman
New User | Posts: 2 | Joined: 09/13
Posted: 09/23/13
01:37 PM

Hi Mopar peeps.  Noob here.   So i recently bought a '77  b200 Travco conversion (camper) van with a 360 and 727 to take the kids camping. Van has only 74K miles and generally in pretty good shape.  The previous owner had not used it much in the past decade, and I figured a lot of the rubber stuff would need replacing, so I wasn't surprised when the rear seal at the back of the extension housing began leaking.  I replaced the seal, checked the fluid level (Neutral, warm) and saw that it was a quart low.  Checked my factory manual and it specified Dextron II.  went to the local Oriellys and checked the shelf.   No dextron II, only Dextron III and IV.   Not knowing the differences (I've only owned manuals my entire life)  and not wanting to put in the wrong stuff, i was stumped.  The guy that worked there suggested I put in Lucas Transmission Fix instead as "Preventive Maintenance".   I put it in and went on with life. It's been about 300 miles, but I notice that the van seems to pull harder at idle against the brakes when I'm sitting at a light, and transmission pulls down the engine revs to the point to where it stalls at times when cold, as if the thicker stuff is making it harder for the torque converter? to slip at low RPM. likewise it seem like I have to push harder on the brakes to stop when driving around town, So I end up shifting into neutral at lights.

I think I want to get rid of this stuff,  Am I doing any damage by having it in there?  What's the best way to get it out?   The stuff is thick and I'm sure coating everything in the transmission.   Should I put in another solvent based product to wash it out, or just drain and refill.  

And what should I refill it with?   III or IV,  do they still make the II?