Need advice with a motor rebuild

Mopar Muscle
Item Posts    Sort Order

Need advice with a motor rebuild

cooper504 cooper504
New User | Posts: 3 | Joined: 01/13
Posted: 01/04/13
11:07 PM

Hello all. I have been undergoing a build project with a 1968 charger for the past couple years. I just about have all the body work summed up and have hit a brick wall. I've always been a whiz with metal work but I am not by any means a gear head. I recently purchased a 68 440 block with the original crank and I'm not sure where to go from here. I assumed I would need it tanked for starters but as I said I am not sure. Would it be cheaper to have a builder take care of the whole project or order the parts myself to my preference and do what I can. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.  

IQ52 IQ52
Guru | Posts: 853 | Joined: 06/10
Posted: 01/05/13
11:12 AM

In the interest of complete disclosure, I am an engine builder.

I have experienced first hand the disasters wrought by well meaning but inexperienced people rebuilding their engines.

It can however be accomplished. You should hook up with a friend that has experience with engine rebuilding and have them guide you through the process or there are many good books available that should be reread time and time again before beginning the process.

Three books to read, available from Amazon, would be:

How To Build Max Performance Big Blocks by Andy Finkbinder

Big Block Mopar Performance by Chuck Senatore

How To Rebuild Big Block Mopar Engines by Don Taylor

I recommend having an experience engine builder do the engine, UNLESS you have burning desire to do it yourself, AFTER reading the above books.  

waynep71222 waynep71222
User | Posts: 246 | Joined: 04/12
11:15 AM

there are about 40 car and truck magazines on this site.    probably 10 will have 440 build articles in them along with a bunch of them right here.. just type 440 into the search window above right.