Single to dual pick up 318 Distributor conversion

Mopar Muscle
Item Posts    Sort Order

Single to dual pick up 318 Distributor conversion

buick455 buick455
New User | Posts: 3 | Joined: 05/10
Posted: 05/30/10
03:06 AM

I have a dead pick up in a distributor from a 1985 New Yorker. I got a dual pick up distribuor from a neighbour. This new fangled stuff is something I have no experience with. How does one modify the "dualie" to work in an engine that previously had a distributor with a single pick up?
Would I be better off to just go and buy a rebuilt distributor with points and make the other required modifications? Thank You.  

waynep7122 waynep7122
Enthusiast | Posts: 643 | Joined: 08/09
Posted: 05/30/10
12:21 PM

the new yorker in 85 if i am not mistaken is a front wheel drive...  do you have a fifth avenue???

as those had 318's with a single or duel pick up depending if it had lean burn feed back system...

the single pickup coil at AZ is under 20 bucks..  AZ #Part Number:CR106
a new reluctor is 6 bucks.. AZ# Part Number: CR102
warning.. the reluctor can go on 2 ways.. there are 2 slots.. one for counter clock wise.. on for clockwise.. mess it up and the rotor will be between the cap terminals when the coil fires..  good for mis fires..

and are you sure the pick up coil is actually the problem...

got a digital volt meter.. lets test it.. takes about 2 minutes..

set the digital volt meter to 2K Ohms... (2,000 Ohms)    hook it up to the pick up coil connector... you should get 500 to 1,500 Ohms of resistance if the pick up coil is good....  

BUT.. before you disconnect the test leads.. flip the meter knob to 20 VOLT AC scale..    see is when you spin the distributer shaft if its out.. or when you crank the motor.. that you get close to one Volt AC..  

if you get a good OHM reading  but fail the AC volt test.. change the reluctor..  they do fail...